Grapefruit Poppyseed Cake

IMAG2158

I made this cake in May but I don’t think it’s too soon to say this may be my favorite cake of the summer.

I served it at our house-warming party to rave reviews, and happily snacked on leftover pieces for the rest of the week.

IMAG2154

It’s an olive oil poppyseed cake with a hint of grapefruit and almond, filled with a grapefruit and clove curd, a tart and zesty grapefruit buttercream, and then frosted with a chamomile vanilla Italian meringue. It’s perfection.

IMAG2162

I used the grapefruit curd recipe from Joy the Baker. The cake came from The Cake Blog and I did make it in the original three six-inch pans, which was very dramatic. I added a quarter teaspoon of almond extract as well. I made a half recipe of the grapefruit buttercream here (and, let me tell you, it is so amazingly flavorful!), and used the Earl Grey meringue frosting from here. I used chamomile tea instead of Earl Grey and added a bit of vanilla too. I made a whole batch, but I think you could safely cut it in half.

IMAG2165

Then I colored my meringue three colors and frosted the cake. I also added some clear sanding sugar on top for a bit of sparkle at the outdoor party. (Plus I was thinking about how many people put sugar on grapefruit when they eat them.)

I will absolutely make this cake again with zero changes– that may be the first time I’ve said that on this blog!

IMAG2160

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

