A Summary of End-of-Semester Baking

I know, I know. Long time no see. But I have still been baking!

I won’t be able to do a detailed post about all of the things I have baked in the last month or so, so let me just summarize a few of them here so that I will be able to find and use the recipes again in the future.

  1. Rootbeer Float Cupcakes: I used this recipe and made half a batch for six cupcakes. They were super moist (almost too much so) and tasted more like a spice cake than rootbeer, despite my addition of rootbeer extract to both the cake and the vanilla whipped cream frosting. I’d pass on making these again, unless I wanted an extremely moist spice cake for some reason.

IMAG20532. Grapefruit Curd Cake. AMAZING. I know it doesn’t look like much, but trust me. You have to make it. I’d never baked a cake with self rising flour before, and I even accidentally left out the two whole eggs in making the grapefruit curd. It was perfectly light, a complete dream right out of the oven, and an amazing breakfast cake for the rest of the week. Recipe here.

IMAG20613. London Fog Tea Cake: I followed this recipe and baked it in three 6-in pans. I left two of the cakes whole and torted the middle one. The cake itself was quite lovely, and I added looseleaf tea to it as well. I frosted it with basic whipped cream and filled one of the layers with some left over orange whipped cream and orange curd. The top got some orange curd as well. It was pretty tasty, but nothing super special. Sort of a clean-out-the-freezer cake right before I moved out of the apartment. (Plus I was running low on cream, so the frosting job is not so pretty– sorry!)

4. Strawberry Butter Cake. Recipe here. I baked it in an 8in square pan instead of a skillet. I thought it was delicious. The cake itself is dense and moist and chewy in all the best ways. But what really took it to the next level was serving it with cut strawberries and unsweetened vanilla whipped cream. I can’t wait to try the recipe with other fruit toppings too. Raspberries and lemon curd, perhaps?!

IMAG21325. Neapolitan Cake. THIS was a triumph and deserves its own post, so look for that by the end of the week. Six layers of cake sandwiched with strawberry jam and frosted with chocolate, strawberry, and vanilla buttercream. Even Megan loved it and she has no sweet tooth!

6. Cake Pop Brownies. I used my new black cocoa powder in combination with a double dutched cocoa powder to make King Arthur’s recipe for extra dark brownies, found here. I omitted the nuts but did add some semi-sweet chocolate chips for more texture. Then I topped it with an extra chocolate cake from my Neapolitain cake that I mixed with some leftover Oreo whipped cream. I did overbake the brownies slightly, but luckily the gooey cake layer helped to soften them up. Chocolate on Chocolate on Chocolate. This was overall pretty easy to put together and I think it would be fun to try different flavor combinations too. Great for a potluck!

IMAG21607. Pink Grapefruit Cake. Perhaps my favorite cake I’ve made in a long time. It’ll have its own post coming up soon as well. Stay tuned!

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Bars, Cakes, Cupcakes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

