Chocolate Chip Muffins with Coconut and Lime

IMAG1963

Just a quick recipe here. I followed Cookie Monster Cooking’s recipe for Lime, Dark Chocolate, and Coconut Muffins. I did cut the recipe in half, and it made 6 muffins. They hardly rise at all, so fill up your pan all the way! (I wouldn’t even bother using liners next time, they didn’t stick at all!)  I also used mini chocolate chips, and a little less than the recipe called for, though you wouldn’t have to cut them. I was just worried about too many chocolate chips (I don’t know what I was thinking!).

The overwhelming impression is a yummy chocolate chip muffin with a good base of coconut flavor and just a hint of lime. I’m not sure you’d notice the lime if you weren’t looking for it. Next time maybe I’d add some extra zest or even lime juice. The texture is a bit more dense than a cupcake, and even than many muffins– I think it’s the coconut oil. The flavor is great though and, even though they look a little unassuming, I keep sneaking extras out of my container.

I’ve been enjoying them plain, but warmed up with a little butter would be great, or you could even go crazy and spread some lime curd on them. (I had originally thought about filling them with lime curd but I’m glad I didn’t because they are too crumbly to cut well for filling.)

I will definitely whip these up on another weekend when I want some quick, delicious, and that feels a little healthier with coconut oil and wheat flour. They do have an egg, so they are not vegan, but I think using banana instead of egg would be delicious as well! Let me know if you try it! (Follow the link above for the recipe.)

IMAG1965

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Scones, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

