2 Bars and Puppy Chow

I’ll keep this short and simple. Classes have picked up considerably. I often feel like I’m clawing my way out of my to-do list on a daily basis. Add to that finding somewhere to live next year, trying to keep three jobs organized AND do my own research… Well, you can imagine.

So, all of that to say, although I have still made it into the kitchen on a regular basis, I’m not always of the mindset to take nice pictures or to post any old recipe.

This is just a quick post so I know what I’ve made, and because a few people have asked for this or that recipe.

Puppy Chow (A.K.A. Muddy Buddies)

  1. Melt 1.5 cups chocolate chips, 3/4 cup peanut butter, and 1/2 cup butter in a large bowl.
  2. Dump entire box of rice chew into a huge bowl or separate gallon size ziploc bags and mix in chocolate mixture.
  3. Add 3.5-4.5 cups powdered sugar and stir or shake in. Don’t stir too much– the clumps are the best part!

IMAG1763

Peanut Butter Granola Bars

I used this recipe. I used oat flour that I made by blending some oats, and whole wheat flour instead of white whole wheat. I also left off the peanut butter drizzle– I’m sure it’s good, but I was running low on peanut butter and time.

These are definitely  a “healthier” treat than I usually make– especially if you choose to leave out the peanut butter chips (but you shouldn’t!). I had one for breakfast a few days and they were a perfect afternoon snack.

IMAG1767

I wish I had a better picture– I kept eating it and forgetting to take a photo!

Cinnamon Coffee Cake Banana Bars

THIS is the standout of this post. I just ate the last piece this afternoon and already want to make it again. It’s a perfect pick-me-up, would make an amazing addition to any brunch, and works just as well as dessert– especially if you serve warm with some vanilla ice cream and sliced bananas!

Find the recipe here. I used plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream because that’s what I had on hand. I don’t know if it made any difference– I only know that it was one of the BEST things I have made in a while! I ended up using about one and a half medium bananas. I’m already plotting ways to reuse this base recipe.

If you make one thing from this post, make this amazing coffee cake!

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Bars, Candy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

