Cinnamon Cupcakes

IMAG1708

This has been a week full of meetings. I had pretty useful meetings with both my adviser and another potential committee member. I learned how to do my second grading job and also met with another visiting professor about a month-long research assistant job. So I thought I was busy before but all it has done is grown! Still, I’ve found that really using work time for work and not for (too many) other distractions has been working well for me. Nearing the end of the week I’m feeling pretty exhausted, but I try to keep myself motivated by plotting baking and cooking projects. (Tonight I’m making pizza dough for some TGIF pizza tomorrow!)

Last night’s project was these Cinnamon Cupcakes. They were a fairly quick project (at least as far as cupcakes go. Let’s be real, they’re not chocolate chip cookies or anything.) I brought them to my TA meeting this morning and they were the star of the show. (Ummm cinnamon cupcakes are like coffee cake are like breakfast, right? Or, as my adviser said, “Breakfast deserves a dessert too.”)

IMAG1710

The recipe is inspired from this one here, but I made enough changes that I’m modifying it below.

I was skeptical about the directions which didn’t include the usual cream the butter and sugar, then mix the dry and liquid separately and then add alternately to the butter. BUT, it totally worked! (Though I did stop and mix after every few ingredients..) These cupcakes were amazingly fluffy and full of cinnamon flavor. I paired them with a very vanilla whipped cream frosting that was perfectly sweet but not overly sweet like cinnamon roll icing/glaze.

Seriously. Cupcake Perfection. I SOOOO wish I had made the full batch!

IMAG1707

Cinnamon Cupcakes 

Makes: 7-8 cupcakes. You should totally double this recipe!

Cupcake Ingredients

1/2 and 1/3 cup cake flour

1/2 cup sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

6 T butter, softened

2 egg whites

1 tsp vanilla bean paste

1/4 cup sour cream

1/4 cup heavy cream

Filling

1 T cinnamon

2T brown sugar

 

Frosting Ingredients

1 cup heavy cream, very cold

1/2 cup powdered sugar

2t vanilla bean paste

 

Instructions

1. Preheat the oven to 350 and spray a cupcake pan or line with liners

2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the cake flour, sugar, 1tsp cinnamon, baking powder and baking soda. Stir to combine.

3. Add the butter and egg whites. Pulse to combine. (It will not completely combine, just get it started to mix in there.)

4. Add the vanilla bean paste, sour cream, and heavy cream and mix on medium until just combined.

5. Combine filling ingredients in a small bowl.

6. Spoon about 1 T of batter into the bottom of each cupcake liner. Sprinkle some filling and then add another T of batter. Add more filling and a final T of batter. The liners should be 1/2 to 2/3 of the way full.

7. Bake for 14-18 minutes. Cupcakes will be nicely domed. Let cool before frosting.

8. To make frosting, whip the cream and then add the powdered sugar and vanilla. Spread or pipe on cooled cupcakes.

IMAG1712

 

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

