Death by Chocolate Cupcakes

CCC2

Ok, so these weren’t even on my baking calendar for another couple of months, but… I just got back to Vermont on Saturday and I was scrolling through my Pinterest ideas and they screamed “bake me!”

CCC1

How could I resist? Dark chocolate galore, a chance to fill my first cupcakes? I even bought some piping tips for the occasion. (Though admittedly my frosting turned out to be a little thick, so some cupcakes didn’t get the piping treatment. Next time!)

CCC5

Look at all that glorious chocolate!

I followed a recipe from American Heritage Cooking here.

The cake itself has a nice rich chocolate flavor without being too dense. It could be a little more moist, if you were going to eat it on its own, but with the filling and frosting I actually thought it was the perfect sturdy complement. I used Scharffen Berger cocoa in the cupcakes, along with sour cream, and the chocolate flavor really came through!

IMAG1644

I filled the cupcakes with a chocolate ganache made with an 80% Panamanian fair trade dark chocolate. This chocolate bar is my new favorite! It has an amazingly deep (but not too bitter) chocolate flavor with hints of vanilla. I am SO happy I have a little left over to snack on later– YUM! The cones of cake I cut out got a little crumbly, but don’t worry. Just shove them back in place– the ganache will hold it together and the frosting will cover any imperfections.

The filling takes on a nice firm texture as it sets (so it won’t run out while you eat) and is a wonderful pop of chocolate intensity in the middle of the cupcakes. I may have to try filling other cupcakes with ganache in the future.

For the frosting I used half semi-sweet chocolate and half Peruvian dark chocolate that I picked up on sale at Lake Champlain Chocolates. I definitely think using at least some semi-sweet is a good idea because it gave the frosting a nice sweetness compared to all the dark chocolate in the rest of the cupcake. The frosting definitely tastes chocolately, not too sweet, and melts nicely in the mouth.

IMAG1648

I did have some trouble with the texture of the frosting– I only added 3/4 cup butter for a half recipe, but the powdered sugar seemed high. I had to add a lot of (chocolate soy) milk to get it to a better consistency. Maybe next time I’d try to do some sort of dark chocolate whipped cream instead. That said, I’m very happy with the overall finished product. Each bite is a little transportation to chocolate town, and is a very good thing to have on hand as classes start tomorrow.

CCC1

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

