Undocumented Desserts

 

Well, over the break I made a few other things that I didn’t really bother photographing much or blogging about. This post is mostly for me, just to have a place where I can find the recipes (or parts of them) again.

  1. Strawberry Moscato Cake– The cake itself was a little dry, though I may have overbaked it a minute or two. It definitely tasted like the pink champagne I used, a little too much for my taste. My partner likes wine more than I do and she liked the cake more too. Cake recipe: http://www.lifeloveandsugar.com/2015/08/31/strawberry-moscato-layer-cake/.
    Even though I didn’t care much for the cake, I paired it with the most AMAZING strawberry buttercream: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/220816/real-strawberry-frosting/ I used only 3/4 cup butter because I’m afraid of tasting butter in buttercreams, and I used a little less powdered sugar and a little extra strawberry puree. I could eat this with a spoon, on a graham cracker, and I think it would be marvelous on a simple vanilla cake. Next time I make my strawberry “shortcake” I might just use this as the frosting– YUM!
    I also filled it with crumbled up white chocolate oatmeal cookies. I really just played around with ingredients, but here’s a basic outline: http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2008/05/crispy-salted-oatmeal-white-chocolate-cookies/. I think I skipped the leavening and maybe even the egg, just adding milk for moisture.
  2. “Perfect” M&M Cookies– The addition of french vanilla pudding mix makes them stay soft and chewy for days. The dough tasted great, and the cookies were good, but nothing amazing or quite “perfect.” It needed a little something extra, but I’m not sure what. Something to balance all the sweetness? BUT, if you are just looking for a simple sweet cookie these would be sure to please you! http://cookiesandcups.com/best-mm-cookies/ I took the step of freezing the dough for a bit but I’m pretty sure it was unnecessary.
  3. Bakery Vanilla Cake with Chocolate and Peanut Butter— I wanted to whip something up at my parents’ house and this simple vanilla birthday cake sounded great: http://joythebaker.com/2016/01/everybodys-birthday-cake/. Again, if you are looking for something simple and sweet, this is your cake. It probably tasted the most like a grocery store/bakery yellow cake than anything else I’ve ever made on its own. I also used her recipe for the chocolate buttercream frosting (though I used the chocolate malt flavor of Ovaltine instead of just the rich chocolate.) The frosting was amazing and tasted almost like brownie batter– it will definitely show up on some other things I’ll bake in the future. I halved the recipe and made one 9in round cake. I filled it with a mixture of peanut butter, vanilla, powdered sugar, salt, and oats. The filling was a little sweet for me. I should have stuck with the peanut butter cookie dough filling I love. All together, the cake was a bit of a sweetness overload for me. In the future, I’d leave out the filling and just go with a simple cake, maybe with that strawberry buttercream from above if I didn’t want chocoalte. Or, if you want to fill it, go ahead and make 2 round cakes and just stack them instead of torting– the cake is sweet and moist enough that it benefits from higher cake-to-filling ratio.

So, take aways: amazing strawberry buttercream, great chocolate buttercream, yummy white chocolate oatmeal crumble, and a rich sweet cake to file away for a rainy day when you just want some old fashioned CAKE (or a birthday of someone with a huge sweet tooth)!

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Cookies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

