The Savory Side Part 2

Over the last few weeks I’ve made a few more savory dishes I want to keep track of and that I think are worth sharing– pumpkin sage biscuits, garlic and herb pizza crust, and spicy tempeh with coconut rice.

Pumpkin Sage Biscuits

The pumpkin sage biscuits are from Sweet Peas and Saffron: http://sweetpeasandsaffron.com/2014/09/pumpkin-sage-biscuits.html. They are perfect just the way they are (and you know how rarely I say that)! I didn’t put whole sage leaves on them because I didn’t have them, but I bet that’d be great too. I simply patted my dough into a rectangle and cut square biscuits because I didn’t want to melt the butter by rolling and rerolling to cut circles. Plus, square biscuits are easier for sandwiches.

I would definitely recommend making a double batch. They are delicious, and that way you don’t have half a can of pumpkin puree sitting in your fridge.

They are perfect for breakfast or a dinner roll served warm with some butter. My favorite way to eat them though was as a sandwich. I served mine with crisp apple slices, sharp cheddar, and caramelized sweet onions. I also made a quick honey/mustard/apple cider vinegar sauce and sprinkled some cracked black pepper on top. My partner thought adding avocado was great too, though I haven’t had a chance to try it that way. (But then when can avocado ever be a bad thing?)

 

Garlic and Herb Pizza Crust

I couldn’t believe I’d never made pizza from scratch before the other week! It is so easy and tastes much better than anything frozen! I used this crust recipe from Cooking A La Mel: http://cookingalamel.com/2013/09/whole-wheat-garlic-and-herb-pizza-dough.html.

I used half whole wheat/half white, though I’d be willing to up the wheat flour more in the future. I also added some extra herbs– half a teaspoon of some Italian seasoning I had in the cabinet.

Before I bake the pizzas I brush the crust with a mixture of minced garlic, italian seasoning, and parmesean in butter for even more flavor.

I let my dough cold rise in the fridge for a day or two, then take it out an hour or two before I want to shape my pizzas. I’m a fan of good old pepper and onion, but I also love to make a cheese pizza topped with pineapple and then, after it comes out of the oven, a honey/siracha/cider vinegar drizzle. (Approximately equal parts of those three ingredients.)

The pizzas baked in the oven at 450 for about 20 minutes. Perfection!

 

Spicy Tempeh with Coconut Rice

To make coconut rice you can either use coconut milk or coconut cream in combination with water when you boil the rice. My favorite combination so far is 1/4 coconut milk, 1/4 coconut cream, and 1/2 water. One cup of dry rice is enough for four servings of this dish, but I like to double it and use the leftovers for something else. I also tried using rice with roasted garlic added in, and that added extra flavor. It’s creamy and sweet and spicy at the same time.

You can cook the tempeh in thin strips according to the directions on the package. I usually pan fry mine for 3-4 minutes on each side over medium heat. While the tempeh cooks make the spicy sauce below, then toss it together while the pan is still hot.

I also like to sautee some peppers, onions (a mix of white and red is best) and a jalapeno to mix in with the tempeh at the end.

Tempeh Spicy Sauce

  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 3/4 tsp ginger
  • 4 T lemon juice
  • 3 T soy sauce
  • 1 T brown sugar
  • 2 shakes of siracha (or more, to taste)

Simply mix everything together and stir to dissolve the brown sugar.

 

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Savory Side, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

