Double Decker Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars

IMAG1455

Do you ever just have a serious craving for chocolate and peanut butter?

(I do!)

These bars have been on my list in one form or another to make for well over a month. I kept pushing them back not because I didn’t have all the ingredients (I did), but because I just got more excited by some of my other recipes. (I know– what was I thinking? What could possibly be better than chocolately peanut buttery goodness?!)

Well Friday was finally the day. I ended the week actually feeling good about the amount of work I had accomplished. I got ahead in grading for my TA, outlined my final paper for a class (exploring the false dichotomies between producer/consumer and representation/reality in maps, for the two of you who are interested), and successfully did not feel out of my depth at a group breakfast discussion with a rockstar environmental historian. I even managed to pseudo-network at said breakfast and now possibly have a coffee date or two with some other students/faculty. (Who AM I?!)

Anyway, Friday was the day for all that AND a crazy celebratory mash-up of two of my favorite ingredients.

I kind of combined two recipes– Sally’s Baking Addiction’s recipe for No-Bake Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars (http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2013/07/02/no-bake-reeses-peanut-butter-bars/)  and a recipe for a cornflake peanut butter chocolate bar.

Essentially, it’s a peanut butter/graham cracker/powdered sugar base, some chocolate peanut butter melted on top of that, then some mini peanut butter cups. That’s the first “decker.” THEN its some crushed cornflakes/peanut butter/brown sugar crisps, all covered in another layer of melted chocolate. These are reminiscent of peanut butter cup crack brownies in the layering and textures, but the emphasis here is much more on the peanut butter than the chocolate or brownie side.

This recipe almost overflowed my 9×9 baking pan, so maybe I’ll try it in a 9×13 next time, but I don’t know. I kind of like the thicker layers. Just make sure your pan has more than two inches of depth!

These bars will squash any chocolate peanut butter cravings with style! They are sweet, salty, creamy, crunchy– everything I love in a dessert! Just try not to devour the entire pan!

Double Decker Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars

1st “decker”

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1.5 cups graham cracker crumbs (maybe less, like 1 cup, if you don’t use a natural peanut butter)
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 2 T peanut butter
  1. Line or spray a 9×9 inch square pan.
  2. Mix the melted butter, graham cracker crumbs, and powdered sugar together until smooth.
  3. Add the 3/4 cup peanut butter and spread evenly in the pan.
  4. Melt the chocolate chips and 2 T peanut butter together, then spread over the peanut butter layer.*
  5. Top with mini peanut butter cups.

*I admit, I technically just used some leftover chocolate ganache I had an stirred in peanut butter and a few extra melted chocolate chips– worked perfectly!

Second “Decker”

  • 4 T butter
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/3 cup dark brown sugar
  • 4 cups corn flakes, crushed
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • sea salt, for sprinkling
  1. In a medium sauce pan over medium heat, melt the butter.
  2. Add the peanut butter, corn syrup, and brown sugar, stirring until smooth.
  3. Add the 1 t vanilla and stir.
  4. Add the crushed corn flakes and stir to coat.
  5. Spread the mixture on top of the mini peanut butter cups, gently pressing down through some parchment paper or aluminum foil to ensure it sticks together well and is spread evenly.
  6. Melt the chocolate chips and spread them over the cereal layer.
  7. Sprinkle sea salt on top
  8. Chill in the fridge or freezer for at least 3 hours

IMAG1455

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Bars and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

