Halloween Donut Holes

IMAG1375

I wanted to do a fun recipe for Halloween, and this is what I came up with. These are super quick, easy, and pretty tasty for the amount of effort that goes into them.

I would readily recommend these to anybody who wants a nice cakey donut hole that is a good canvas for any flavor you can dream up! I mostly followed the recipe from Hummingbird High http://www.hummingbirdhigh.com/2012/06/orange-scented-cake-donuts-with-milky.html except of course I made donut holes in my mini muffin pan instead of making them into full-out donuts.

IMAG1371

She isn’t kidding when she says the Earl Grey flavor is subtle! I added some extra dry tea leaves to my glaze and it still wasn’t really identifiable if you weren’t looking for it. The tea leaves did have the nice effect of making black spots on my donuts which paired beautifully with my orange-colored frosting for a Halloween theme. I added maybe half a teaspoon of orange gel food coloring.

I ended up thinning out my frosting recipe considerably so there would be enough to coat all of my donuts. You may want to double or even triple the glaze recipe if you like a nice thick coat. The first donut in the top picture was before I thinned the glaze. The other advice I have is to store them in an open container. The glaze does harden fairly well, but as soon as you put them in a container they get sticky and messy.

IMAG1374

If I use this recipe again I might play around with stronger flavors, or just play them up as vanilla donuts.

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

