In Which I Acknowledge My Limitations. (And Make Some Pretty Yummy Blondies.)

IMAG1349

Well, that’s a little embarrassing. I was really enjoying my Blogging 201 poetry class, and then I apparently fell off the face of the Earth half way through.

In reality, I think I bit off a lot more than I should have with a paper assignment (but I’m excited about the topic, sometimes I can’t help myself!), was given a serious PILE of papers to grade for the class I TA, and had to plan for my parents’ brief visit on Thursday/Friday.

Oh, and I watched the debate on Tuesday. (Well, video chatted with my partner while we were both watching the debate. Don’t we sound like a politically aware and adorable couple?) I feel like I’ve been trying desperately to catch up on sleep ever since!

Last night my neighbors were having a loud party so I didn’t even attempt to go to bed until pretty late. The upshot was that I spent a lot of time plotting future recipes. I even managed to come up with what I think is going to be a ridiculous milk and cookies cake featuring five– yes FIVE– kinds of cookie dough frosting and layers and all that good stuff.

BUT that’s not what I’m posting today. I figured I just got the last of that amazing Malted Vanilla Milk Cake out of my fridge, and I wasn’t quite ready to add a five layer cake back in there. So I made banana blondies.

Let me make that sound more exciting… Browned Butter Banana Blondies with Brown Sugar Peanut Butter Frosting. (Ta Da!)

These have been on my list for months, but I kept pushing them aside in favor of something that sounded a little flashier. Well, I finally made them this afternoon. I really want to say they were worth every minute of the wait, but I’m not sure about them. Don’t get me wrong, they are delicious. If you are looking for an upscale blondie recipe, this is a great fit. They are moist and sophisticated with that brown butter complexity, and the frosting is almost like a penuche fudge. Me being “not sure” did not prevent me from eating a whole row of them out of the pan before they even finished cooling.

I guess I’m just not the biggest blondie fan in general. Or maybe it’s that I’ve been totally blown away by my Fall Spice Mini Muffins and my Malted Cake, so by comparison these perfectly yummy blondies seem to fall a bit short. Don’t let that discourage you though. If you love blondies and brown butter, I PROMISE you will love these!

IMAG1350

I used the recipe from Cookies and Cups (cookiesandcups.com/bananablondies/) but changed the frosting a bit. You could leave the frosting as it is and I’m sure it would still be great. I just wanted to use up some extra peanut butter cookie dough frosting I had from my chocolate peanut butter cake. So I halved the brown sugar frosting, and then mixed in about a quarter cup of my peanut butter frosting and another two tablespoons of peanut butter with the powdered sugar. The resulting frosting is definitely spoon-worthy. Thick and creamy, like the best most interesting peanut butter cookie flavor!

I of course drizzled a little chocolate ganache on top of this too– banana, peanut butter, and chocolate– a trifecta.

Other than baking I spent most of the day curled up under blankets with my cat, watching movies for the first time in months. I needed a break after a crazy week! Plus the fact that it actually hailed here twice today made me feel like a movie day was pretty legitimate.

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Bars and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

