Assignment Six– Faces, Found Poetry, Chiasmus

I “found” my words by taking the first and last word of each paragraph in a paper I wrote on nature and civilization in Shakespeare’s As You Like It. The only think I changed was to add an “‘s” to Shakespeare.

To be honest, I kind of forgot about the “faces” requirement while I was “writing.” But I think it works abstractly since (if you’re familiar with the play), Rosalind disguises herself as a man, though she is noted as having a fair face. My paper also addresses the idea (though not in these words,) that nature and civilization may be two faces of the same thing. A little academic, perhaps, but I had fun with it.

Lost and Found

In Arden, Shakespeare’s forgotten lineage

A forest

Wrestling the constructed order

 

In the court as civilization

Absurd gender views

Placing Men as Adam

 

Other lives belong in wilderness

Since it existed

Despite

 

Reference copies as place

As this forest behind civilization

As this civilization behind forest

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Assignment Six– Faces, Found Poetry, Chiasmus

  1. Kathy says:

    Interesting the way you combined words to create this – very cool.

    Like

  2. Alexander says:

    I have to admit I haven’t read as you like it, but I like “wrestling the constructed order”; wrestling in my mind is how a forest would deal with an urban scene with it’s branches wrapping & wrestling so to speak, just something that I felt when I read it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

