Apple Fall Spice Mini Muffins

1

Oh. My. Goodness. These are ridiculously good. Like I ate an embarrassing number of them straight out of the oven good. Like I had to hide them in a container to take to work tomorrow so I wouldn’t eat every single of them tonight good. Please please make them. Warm and moist and richly spicy with that perfectly messy brown sugar spice coating. YUM.

Delicious spicy mixture. With a curiously orange glow...

Delicious spicy mixture. With a curiously orange glow…

I got the recipe from Cupcake Project (http://www.cupcakeproject.com/2015/10/baked-apple-cider-donut-holes.html). She technically made them as donut holes, but that’s a pan I don’t have in my kitchen yet. Hop on over there to see her pictures, etc, but I’ve included some of my own as well.

Cider reducing to concentrate that apple taste!

Cider reducing to concentrate that apple taste!

The only changes I made to the recipe (besides doing mini muffins), were that I used about 1.5 times the spices for the spice mixture that they get rolled in after baking, and my mini muffins only needed ten minutes in the oven instead of 15. I filled the pan pretty full, because I wanted them to round out over the top and be close to donut holes.

donuts

I have made my fair share of donuts before, but these are BY FAR the best. You don’t miss the fried-factor at all. (I suppose dipping them in melted butter helps, but I actually ran out of butter part way through and found I preferred them without butter. I simply rolled the warm donuts in the same brown sugar spice mixture and it stuck reasonably well.)

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Cupcakes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Apple Fall Spice Mini Muffins

  1. Yay!!! Glad you loved them as much as I did! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

