Assignment #2

sunset

I’ll be back on the baking bandwagon with some cinnamon apple cider mini muffins later this week, but here is my second assignment for Writing 201. The prompts included gift, acrostic, and simile. I actually wrote two different poems for this assignment.

The first references a friend who supported me in a really tough time last year. Her name also happens to have some good letters that I thought it would be fun to play with.

Acrostic #1

Longing to fit in somewhere

All I needed was one person to listen

Needed to open up

As a Mobius strip

Undulating, gently spread

Xcept still whole

The second I wrote about my initial attraction to chemistry and eventual realization that it was not enough for me, despite the fact that my study of it, career teaching it, and remaining love for it have much of the last ten years of my life. It also gifted me with a particular way of looking at problems that has been helpful even as I’ve stepped into other disciplines.

Acrostic #2

Chemistry called to me like a songbird calls to dusk

Haunting cries piercing skies, promising answers

Even in the midst of the world’s calamities.

Maybe my plaintive why’s

Invisible, fatal cracks in my otherwise “I’m fine” facade

Settle in the face of some imaginary capital T

Truth.

Reactions and equations shielded me from uncertainty for a while

Yet now I know too much and also nothing.

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Assignment #2

  1. Annie says:

    I love them both! First of all, your friend has a very cool name! Secondly, “like a songbird calls to dusk” – sounds so magical.

    Like

  2. vronlacroix says:

    Both poems work. I especially like the thoughtfulness of the second.

    Like

  3. shazzameena says:

    Great poetry! I’m glad I visited. I’m looking forward to the next assignment.

    Like

  4. I love this line “Haunting cries piercing skies, promising answers” the sounds, the images–spine-tingling. Wow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

