Peanut Butter Chocolate Cake

pb cake 2

This is it. I have found it. The PERFECT peanut butter chocolate dessert! Dense, moist, like a peanut butter cookie in cake form, with just enough dark chocolate thrown in to keep things from being too sweet. Layer upon layer of chocolaty peanutbuttery perfection.

The cake itself smells exactly like a peanut butter cookie right out of the oven. The cake has the perfect density to stand up to carving and some heavier toppings without feeling heavy itself, and all the peanut butter keeps it moist.

In between the layers is a creamy peanut butter cookie dough frosting. That’s right– peanut butter cookie dough frosting on a cake that already tastes like a peanut butter cookie. Could it get any better?!

The answer is a resounding YES. The first and third filling layer get a dark chocolate cookie crumble. These are like Oreo’s but better– there are crunchy little bits of dark chocolate in them!

The middle layer has some honey-tossed puffed rice cereal (or in my case kamut, because somehow that was cheaper) instead of chocolate cookies. The sweet honey plays beautifully with the peanut butter and the cereal adds a new, lighter texture to this layer.

pbcake 3

The entire cake is then covered in a dark chocolate ganache and decorated with mini peanut butter cups and the rest of the cookie crumble. It’s perfectly sweet and satisfying. I already had a friend ask me to make this again for a birthday, and I am waiting for a special occasion to pull out my last piece from the freezer!

Peanut Butter Cake

I followed the cake recipe from Joy the Baker, here: http://stephiecooks.com/2012/03/25/a-very-joy-the-baker-post-peanut-butter-cake-and-a-book-signing/

The only change I made was to use cake flour instead of flour.

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Frosting

I have made this frosting several times, from Cupcake Project (http://www.cupcakeproject.com/2011/08/peanut-butter-cookie-dough-thats-safe.html)

I doubled the recipe. Simply mix everything together and then add as much heavy cream as you need to, a tablespoon or so at a time until you get a good frosting consistency. I made mine just spreadable, but still nice and thick.

I had enough to generously fill and do a crumb coat on the cake.

Dark Chocolate Cookie Crumble

This recipe I got from Food and Wine (http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/double-chocolate-cookie-crumble).

I only made a quarter recipe, and I thought it was perfect. If you want to go crazy with the cookies then maybe only cut it in half. The small chunks of chocolate in the cookie are what make this so much more unique than just using something store bought!

I didn’t have oat flour, so I used some almond flour instead, though I bet regular flour would work too. I also used brown sugar instead of turbinado.

Honey Rice Topping

  1. I mixed 1 cup puffed grain cereal with 2 T of warm honey, just to coat them.

Dark Chocolate Ganache 

I used my favorite chocolate ganache recipe from Sweetapolita (http://sweetapolita.com/2014/03/sweet-salty-millionaires-layer-cake/).

I used a third of a recipe and still had a little left over, though I also prefer a thinner coating than some people might.

Assembly

  1. Cut both cakes in half and place one of the bottoms on a serving tray. j
  2. Spread peanut butter frosting on the layer and top with about half of the cookie crumbs.
  3. Add the second layer and spread more peanut butter frosting on. Top this frosting with all of the honey cereal mixture.
  4. Add the third layer with frosting and most of the rest of the cookie crumbs (you are saving some to decorate with).
  5. Place the top of the cake on everything and do a crumb coat with some thinned out peanut butter frosting (add a little more cream so it is super easy to spread). Let chill for at least 30 minutes.
  6. Coat the entire cake in chocolate ganache.
  7. Add a circle of mini peanut butter cups around the top, and use the leftover cookie crumble around the bottom outside of the cake.
  8. Try not to horde the entire thing to yourself!

pb cake`

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

