Raspberry Almond Sweet Rolls

Raspberry Rolls

Warning:  These are AMAZING and you will want to eat the entire pan. I seriously had to shove some into the back of the freezer to prevent myself from doing just that! The dough is perfectly soft and a little flaky, the raspberry filling is slightly tart and balances the almond cream and glaze so that every bite is definitely dessert, but let’s call it breakfast too– or a snack!

Sweet Roll Dough

For the dough, I used the Almond Sweet Roll dough from Crazy for Crust (http://www.crazyforcrust.com/2014/04/almond-sweet-rolls/). I did not use the filling or frosting recipe from that site.

Filling

I actually made two fillings for these rolls. First I wanted to try making some almond cream from scratch. You certainly could just buy some almond paste and follow Crazy for Crust’s suggestion, but I had fun trying to make it myself. It was actually a post on Pinterest that got me interested in the almond cream and that served as the inspiration for these rolls. I followed the recipe from Let the Baking Begin (http://letthebakingbeginblog.com/2014/11/french-almond-cream-crme-damandes-why-you-should-know-how-to-make-it/). It’s important to note that this has a much, well, creamier texture than almond paste. It was a little messy and next time I might up the flour or other dry ingredients. That said, it tasted amazing, though maybe not quite as almond-y as I thought it would. Maybe I’d add more almond extract next time…

The second filling I made was a raspberry/strawberry sauce, inspired by my success with strawberry brown sugar “jam” in my toaster pastries. I put about 3/4 cups raspberries and maybe 1/2 cup strawberries, chopped, in a saucepan with a splash of water, 1/4 cup sugar, and a teaspoon of corn syrup. I let them cook over medium for about ten minutes, stirring occasionally, and then added some corn starch to thicken it up at the end.

The pairing of the two fillings was heaven! Sweet almond and tart berries– YUM! The two blended together and the almond cream “disappeared” into the rolls when the baked, but the flavor was amazing.

Roll

Glaze

For the glaze I just mixed 1 T melted butter, 1.5 cups powdered sugar, 1/2 t almond extract, and then added a little milk at a time until I got a spreadable consistency. I glopped it on the rolls and added some slivered almonds to hint at the flavor inside.

It’s been about a month since I made them, and my freezer supply has almost vanished. They heat up beautifully and, in my opinion, are best eaten warm to enjoy all the gooey deliciousness!

Please please make them!

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Rolls and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

