Homemade Strawberry Poptarts

This was the first thing I made in my new apartment in Burlington! My roommate and I wanted to have people from our little house over, just to meet everyone. I knew I needed to bake something, but I hadn’t quite stocked up on supplies yet. I had no sugar, no eggs, no chocolate…

The dough for these is only flour, butter, salt and water. I used the recipe from 100 Days of Real Food (http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2012/05/30/recipe-whole-wheat-toaster-pastries-a-k-a-pop-tarts/), but I just used the all purpose flour I had instead of wheat flour. (I have made them with wheat flour before though and they are just as awesome.) I skipped the egg wash because I didn’t have any eggs, and just used a finger dipped in water to help seal them before crimping.

For the filling, I made my own version of strawberry jam with ingredients I had on hand. I chopped up about a cup of strawberries, added maybe a teaspoon or two of corn syrup, a splash of water, and a quarter cup of brown sugar (borrowed from my roommate, white sugar would work as well) to a sauce pan. I heated it on medium heat for about 10 minutes, or until it starts to take on a jammy texture. I then stirred in some corn starch just because I wanted it to get a little thicker so it wouldn’t leak out of the tarts. It’s also helpful to let it cool. The texture is a little grainier than real jam, but in the tarts you won’t notice it, and it still tastes good on toast too!

For the Frosting…

I mixed together about a cup or a cup and a half of powdered sugar with a little strawberry extract I had on hand from making hard candy, and a teaspoon or corn syrup which helps the glaze set. I added milk a little at a time until it got to a nice spreadable texture. I also went against my usual habits and added a bit of red food coloring, just to complete the toaster pastry look. If I’d had sprinkles I would have thrown those on there too!

Ok, so there’s some good news and bad news about this situation…

The bad: only one person showed up for our party 😦

The good: The tarts were awesome and there were lots to go around!

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Poptarts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

