Rainbow Heart Cookies for Vermont Pride!

There is so much going on in Burlington this weekend! Most excitingly, my sweetheart is here to go to Vermont Pride with me. I thought I’d celebrate by making something pretty and rainbow-y and happy.

Usually I’m not one to worry too much about how my desserts look. I figure as long as they taste good, why spend so much time decorating something that it just going to get eaten? However, when I saw these cookies from Eugenie Kitchen (http://eugeniekitchen.com/rainbow-heart-cookies-eugenie/), I knew I had to try and recreate them for this weekend. The recipe sounded like it might taste nearly as good at it looked.

Let me tell you, these are not cookies you can whip up in an afternoon and be done with. There is a combined chilling time of five and a half hours, not to mention actually coloring, rolling out, and cutting the dough. But if you like to play with clay and pretty colors, the process is oddly satisfying.

I forgot to take pictures of all the different steps, but I think the most satisfying part was finally cutting into that sprinkle-covered roll and seeing the rainbow hearts reveal themselves.

What the original recipe doesn’t mention is that, after you cut out the rainbow hearts, you will have a ton of extra rainbow dough that didn’t make it through your cookie cutter… I decided to just make some tie-dye cookies, which I think turned out pretty well

In addition to looking like little works of art, the cookies also tasted surprisingly delicious. I guess some things can be both beautiful and yummy. This doesn’t sound like high praise, but they reminded me a lot of those slice-and-bake sugar cookies with like trees or bunnies on them. So nostalgia-wise I was pretty happy, since those used to be staples of my grandma’s holiday baking. We completely inhaled all the cookies this weekend, but not before we took a minute to take some silly pictures!

I definitely recommend making these cookies if you are looking to impress! If you’re just looking for a tasty cookie the recipe is decent as well, but then I wouldn’t bother putting in the extra hours. I don’t know if I’d ever make them again, but they sure were fun once!

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

