Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

IMAG1110

Tuesday was a LONG day. It doesn’t help that I have my required course Tuesday evening. That is one hundred percent not the best time of day for my brain. Couple that with another long day on Wednesday, and I was feeling the need to bake!

I hadn’t planned on making anything else after a failed attempt at brown butter strawberry donuts (that turned into passably good cake bites), but it was a baking emergency. One trip to the corner store (I live somewhere with a corner store!) for Oreos and heavy cream later, and these beauties were born!

I adapted a cupcake recipe from Cherry On My Sundae. (http://cherryonmysundae.com/2014/07/cookies-cream-cupcakes.html) I didn’t trust myself with 24 cupcakes, so I cut it in half. Otherwise, the only changes I made were to use cake flour instead of all purpose, (I just love the fluffier texture it gives most cakes!), and I used heavy cream instead of regular milk. These cupcakes needed to be truly indulgent to improve my day. (Well, that and I was out of regular milk and needed cream for the frosting anyway so…)

Her recipe calls for a buttercream frosting, but I’m not a big fan, so I made my own version. I whipped about a cup and a half of cream, added in a little less than half a cup of powdered sugar to try and stabilize it, and then folded in some crushed Oreos. Truly a “cream” frosting to go with the cookies and cream cupcakes!

IMAG1112

Other than the fact that I need to get some piping tips, I think they turned out quite cute! It’s impossible not to smile when you taste the fluffy yet also closely packed cake with big chunks of Oreos, topped with perfectly light and not-too-sweet whipped cream frosting. I gifted a few at work yesterday, and one coworker told me, “That’s probably the best thing I’ve ever eaten!” Success.

About Amanda Bakes Cakes

Baker. Grad student. Hiker. Crossword puzzler. Trivia junkie.
This entry was posted in Cupcakes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

